Fusing consumer fireworks for electric firing

Discussion in 'Fusing Guides, Video And Tutorials' started by K9Girl, Nov 9, 2015.

1. K9Girl

K9Girl Tinsel Town Sales Reduction Ambassador Supports UKFR

Having had a very successful BFN this year in that I was lucky to get 100% ignition and pretty much instant too, I thought I'd do a picture by picture tutorial to share my method.

NB - I am no pro, have no special training, only my own experiences. I don't have hundreds of cakes to fuse, so can put in the time so my once a year show can go well, that said it only takes me a couple of minutes per cake. I'm not saying this is the best way and not dissing anyone else's methods.

Disclaimer - Always do this in the place you intend to fire them, never do it then transport by vehicle. Do it in a garage/shed or somewhere that (if) it all goes wrong, you won't burn your house down. Never have your head over the firework whilst doing this, have it at a level where you look straight at it so you can't accidentally lean over it. I wear safety glasses just in case too.

Anyway, Here goes!

• When I get my cakes I give them a visual inspection to check nothing obvious is wrong.
    • I then use brown packing tape to cover the bottom, this is just extra piece of mind incase some water sneaks in through the waterproofing (pic 1)
    • Locate the visco and feel your way through the paper to where it enters the first tube, then carefully using a craft knife, cut the outer paper/card away (pic 2 & 3)
    • Where the visco enters the first tube, using an AWL, ideally non sparking (pic 4) go in just above the fuse, making the hole bigger, go steady, you should hear/feel crunching, which means you are in the right place. Just do enough to make the hole big enough to accept a few black match strands. Leave the safety visco in place.
    • Cut a piece of QM, I use electricians scissors (pic 5 & 6)