Getting Licensed for Cat 4

Discussion in 'Fireworks Forum Chat And Discussion' started by Chalgravesteve, Nov 16, 2009.

1. Perhaps someone can help me with this.

I have been firing Cat 3 displays for 15 years, and particularly one of the 2 displays I do every year has steadily got larger and larger, both on the number of fireworks and the size of the crowd.

Our crowd for Fireworks night is usually up around the 2,500 mark, and this year I had 100+ rockets and 68 cakes of various sizes. What I usually do, is effectively get 2 cakes of everything I use, set them up as 2 identical displays side by side, and then we simultaneously fire the two displays, keeping each cake overlapping so we get a continuously firing display that lasts, hopefully, around 18/20 mins.

The double display gives us a very good width to the display, and looks very good to the crowd as we have 2/4 cakes kicking off throughout the display.

Anyway, I think we do a pretty good job of it....but......

what I am trying to find out is.....

If I became qualified to use Cat 4, I would assume that the display can go bigger and better....
    ....but is the cost of putting Cat 4 into the sky more or less than Cat 3? ie will i get more and bigger bangs for my bucks?

The bottom line is that I think that the display that I do for our Village is at the threshold of where it can afford to pay for the fireworks...if this is going to be a lot more expensive, then I am wasting my time as they simply will not be able to afford to spend more to satisfy my urges to light fireworks!

Don't get me wrong, I am under no illusions that training and qualification for cat 4, I expect to be tough and costly. I will make that decision myself, but I think that I will be firing fireworks for many years to come still, and maybe I would like to invest in myself a bit at the moment. I would appreciate any information from the pro guys as to the costs of Cat 4 stock against Cat 3.

Thanks

Steve