Let’s talk about delays/lift/breaktimes

Discussion in 'Firing Systems And Fusing Fireworks' started by WR3_Pyro, Oct 13, 2021 at 3:04 PM.

1. WR3_Pyro

WR3_Pyro Supports UKFR

Sorry, another post, for all the scripters out there, what are people’s thoughts/rationale regarding delays/lift>break time.

I know with shells etc you would want to cue on the break post lift - but in the cat 3 world what are peoples preferences with cakes/mines/ss/ etc, are you programming in rough lift times or cue on 1st tube ignition?

And yes this is only relevant for pyromusicals/music syncing? Interested in peoples thoughts and rationale, I have incorporated lifetime delays on certain cues but felt tube ignition more apt for others..

Cheers all!

Rookwood likes this.
  2. Samuel

Samuel Supports UKFR

Hi,

I am quite new to pyromusical scripting myself with cat 3 and have only fired one small show so far. I have this BFN all scripted and ready to go with my Cobra system on their show creator software.

The way I have done it is to find a few videos of the product and then I get my show creator loaded with the song and the video next to it, then simply play the song and the video of the product at the same time and check to see whether the firework finishes at the same time as the segment of the song I want it for. Then I adjust lift delay depending on what I am trying to achieve.

Most cakes with an igniter in will fire instantly, but if I want the break to be at the cue time then I will add a 1 second (ish) lift delay so it fires off just before the cue comes up. Hopefully then it breaks on cue.

For other product like candles and fountains, I watch a few videos to see what the rough time is between lighting the fuse and the product and then set the lift delay to that. Also taking into account I can make the Visco a bit shorter and use an igniter. So something like 1.5/2 second delay.