Pyro alongside full time job?

Discussion in 'Professional Fireworks' started by GTRpyro, Apr 8, 2019.

1. GTRpyro

GTRpyro Supports UKFR

:newhere:. I'm a young pyro-lover (22) whose been on the forum for a couple of years now. I'm based in the midlands and looking at getting into professional fireworks and working towards BPA accreditation. I've just finished an apprenticeship and been awarded a full time electrical maintenance job, so I'm only looking at doing a few shows a year alongside my main job to satisfy my passion and move up to bigger and better things. With the pressure on consumer fireworks lately, I'm sure im not the only one. It's more for the love of it & the smell of the smoke, not for career purposes, but who knows where it will lead given time? o_O.

I have no current CAT4 experience, but have done quite a bit with CAT 2 & 3 and a fair bit of set-up fusing and basic electronic firing (nail boards, cheap 4-cue systems etc...), including hand firing a couple of small scale displays at a local pub. I'm always browsing on here and seeking information :book: and tips from documentaries, videos & the old boys at my local retailer who used to do displays, with hours of stories to tell about the 40-odd years they've been in business for. It just fascinates me and lights my fire ;).
    I've noticed on FB that @Firework Crazy down in Essex do taster days as a starting point, but I'd like to know who else does pyro part-time alongside a different line of work? Is it a viable option?

Last edited: Apr 8, 2019
  2. Illusion Fireworks

Illusion Fireworks British Firework Champions 2018 UKFR Sponsor

You just missed our induction day but we can have you out on shows as soon as this Saturday if you want to join our team :)

Jon Coles, GTRpyro and PyroAsh like this.
  3. elmo

elmo Pro Firer/Crew